Bad Habits to Kick

Gary Kayye posted an article in our Branding of Me class page by Forbes titled the Eight Bad Habits You Must Break To Be More Productive and I have been consistently trying to break them as I am attempt to be more constructive with my days so I can accomplish what I need to, but also have time to enjoy this insane February (Mid 70-degree) weather in Chapel Hill.

Bad Habits to Kick:

1. Using your phone, tablet or computer in bed.

How is it possible that I manage to get in bed at 11 p.m. and then somehow do not fall asleep until 12:30? Yep, my phone. I have tried to swap it with a book and what do you know I am out cold by 11:30 p.m.

2. Impulsively surfing the Internet.

Online shopping is a very real problem for me. When I find myself with a spare second I am on my Nordstrom Rack App without even thinking about it. Inevitably finding things I just don’t need. I have been really trying to get past the first 15 minutes of doing work, get into my flow and not look back.

3. Perfectionism.

My friend actually tagged me in a meme about this today that said, “When you’re trying to maintain good grades, attendance, sleep 8 hours, eat 3 meals, exercise and have a social life but a day is only 24 hours.” I want to start doing everything with a purpose and be in the moment and realize everything else will get done.

4. Meetings I think this might have been the most shocking to me.

Ultra productive people avoid meetings as much as possible, why did I think the opposite? As the President of the HelpMeSee Club, after reading this article I have tried to cut back on our in-person meetings and do a lot more online work. People are much more inclined to do work when you do not make them leave their house or their beds.

5. Responding to emails as they arrive.

Luckily I am pretty bad at responding to emails the second they arrive because I am running around during the day. So hey, doing one thing right!

6. Hitting the snooze button.

Got to go. When I hear my alarm as terrible as it is I have to pop up and open my curtains (which I can do from bed). Even if I just lie in bed I am up, but I am so much more productive during the day and a happier person because of it when I get up and get going early.

7. Multitasking.

This bad habit was especially obvious to me when I was frantically applying for internships. Doing a little bit of each and not just finishing one in its entirety and moving on.

8. Putting off tasks.

Obviously, you put off for last what you don’t want to do. I have been trying to make my days top heavy, not only so my days can get progressively easier, but if an opportunity presents itself I am there with open arms.

blog-pic-bad-habits


Leave a Reply

